

2012 Award Deadlines

FEBRUARY 24, 2012 DEADLINE

(Recipients are selected by the ICCTA Awards Committee)

Distinguished Alumnus Award

The Distinguished Alumnus Award recognizes the many success stories of Illinois' community college graduates. Nominees must have completed a recognized program of instruction (associate degree, certificate, or diploma) at an Illinois public community college. *Currently serving trustees and presidents are not eligible for nomination.*

Ray Hartstein Trustee Achievement Award

The Ray Hartstein Trustee Achievement Award recognizes exemplary service by a currently serving public community college board member.

Gigi Campbell Student Trustee Excellence Award

The Gigi Campbell Student Trustee Excellence Award provides a one-time \$500 scholarship to a currently serving student member of an Illinois public community college board.

Gary W. Davis Ethical Leadership Award

The Gary W. Davis Ethical Leadership Award honors individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the pursuit and support of ethical leadership and decision-making in their fields of work and volunteer service.

MARCH 2, 2012 DEADLINE

(Recipients are selected by the ICCTA Diversity Committee)

Equity Award

This award recognizes exemplary commitment by an Illinois public community college board and its chief executive officer to achieve equity in the college's education programs.

MARCH 30, 2012 DEADLINE

(Recipients are selected by the ICCTA Awards Committee)

Business/Industry Partnership Award

The Business/Industry Partnership Award recognizes an Illinois business that has built a successful workforce-training alliance with a local public community college.

Outstanding Full-Time Faculty Member Award

The Outstanding Faculty Member Award recognizes the high achievement of Illinois' full-time public community college instructors.

Outstanding Part-Time Faculty Member Award

The Outstanding Faculty Member Award recognizes the high achievement of Illinois' part-time public community college instructors.

Paul Simon Student Essay Contest

The Paul Simon Student Essay Contest provides a one-time \$500 scholarship to the student who best describes "How My Community College Has Changed My Life." All currently enrolled full- and part-time students at Illinois' public community colleges are eligible to participate; however, each college may enter only one student essay in the statewide competition each year.

Professional Board Staff Member Award - NEW

The Professional Board Staff Member Award recognizes exemplary professional service to an Illinois community college board.

MARCH 30, 2012 DEADLINE

(Recipients are selected by the ICCTA Executive Committee)

ICCTA Honorary Membership

As the association's highest award, ICCTA Honorary Membership is reserved for those individuals who have established the very highest standard of service and who have clearly benefitted the entire Illinois community college system. *Currently serving trustees and presidents are not eligible for nomination.*

Meritorious Service Award

This honor is given to elected/appointed officials and other friends of community colleges who have contributed to the advancement of the Trustees Association and community college education in Illinois. *Currently serving trustees and presidents are not eligible for nomination.*

Certificate of Merit

The Certificate of Merit is presented to persons (usually former trustees or presidents) who have made a significant contribution to ICCTA, the Illinois system, or an individual member college. *Currently serving trustees and presidents are not eligible for nomination.*

Advocacy Award

The ICCTA Executive Committee created this special award in 2006 to honor its recipient's dedicated leadership in advocating for the needs of students and the Illinois community college system.

Please send all nominations to: Illinois Community College Trustees Association

401 E. Capitol Ave, Suite 200 Springfield, IL 62701-1711 1-800-454-2282 (phone) 217-528-8662 (fax)

iccta@communitycolleges.org (e-mail)